Hammer's Flank Campaign

Aured

Hello all. I'm just getting started with this campaign in Red Thunder. I've read a lot of people saying that it's unrealistic and badly designed, but I'm going to give it my best shot.

The first mission involves a rifle battalion with SPG support attacking a German trenchline in a swamp. The second is another battalion with the same organisation attacking a village.

The question I want to ask is how would both of these attacks be performed in real life? I have conflicting information involving what to do: Russian battle reports are only available from 1941, and generally involve step-by-step plan executed one after the other. Other sources (JasonMC primarily) state that the infantry would rush forward in a line, go to ground when shot at and then stay there. 

I have no information on what kind of formation the rifle battalion would use, how they would intergrate with their SPGs and how they would attack the swamp, with it's water blocking most avenues of approach, and the village which is cut up into three different hamlets.

Can anyone provide a clear, definitive answer on how a Russian rifle battalion in 1944 would attack both of these objectives?

Thank you in advance for any answers.  

You can do as the Soviets would have. That means you start with plastering the enemy with the artillery's hard rain from above after which you assault the enemy with tanks and infantry.

But it of course depends on what you have been given to play with in the scenario.

Edited by BornGinger

5 hours ago, Aured said:

I've read a lot of people saying that it's unrealistic and badly designed

😲...Nuts...they are nuts...

all scenarios are as realistics as they are ...as proven in real life...in many cases they will provide you with much joy just for the fact that you just overcome the dificulties they are presenting...

Edited by Dan Dare

I designed the 1st mission so I can give some tips on that one.