[WIP] Juju's 'The railyard at Pitrovsk' project

Hello and welcome to Juju's 'The railyard at Pitrovsk' project (TRaP, from here on) work-in-progress thread. Here I will take you through a ‘guided tour’ and tell you all about the stuff I'm working on.

So, what’s this TRaP project? Sounds intriguing.

It's an attempt to combine map, mods and scenario in order to create a specific atmosphere which (dare I say it) hopefully elevates it to a higher level of immersion. Maybe some of these ideas are picked up by others, or even BFC, and developed further.

First of all, let's all NOT take this one too seriously and have a little bit of fun with it. This is my first attempt at making a map and scenario and some elements of this projects may seem a bit quirky and 'out there' to some of you. It's a 'casual' project and not intended to be historically correct or aimed at grogs or history buffs.

Tall talk, lad. What does TRaP offer that I haven't seen before, then (stifled yawn)?

There's the map. My very first one, I might add. It covers the fictional town of Pitrovsk but centers on its prize target: the railyard at Pitrovsk. The map is crammed with oodles of details and flavor objects. I’ve hand-placed approximately 960 (give or take a few) of the things and many have tiny little stories behind them, if you use your imagination a little. I even went as far as researching the common distance between telephone poles in rural and urban areas and along rail lines.

Uh-huh. Been there, done that. T-shirt. What else you got?

Well, there are plenty of mods, including several what I like to call 'mini-mods:' little dioramas within a diorama, if you will, that are unique to this scenario and are mainly there for flavor. But the main feature is, obviously, the railyard (both the passenger station and freight yard). There are some generous mod contributions from fellow modders as well!

(perks up) Mods? What are these new mods of which you speak?