Reading material

I´ve just read "Tank!" by Ken Tout. A very well written personal tale about one day´s battle for a british Sherman crew in Normandy.

Highly recommended - even though the brits won´t arrive until the next module.

I am in the middle of this as well, good book about life as a tanker not the generals view of the battlefield. Now I just wish i could get hold of that commonweath module!!

Hey guys, newbie here... I was just wondering if you could recommend a book about the normandy campaign. I'm looking for some detailed reading with maps and photos to follow the action better.

Thanks in advance!

You can get the US official history (and or Blumenson):

http://www.ibiblio.org/hyperwar/USA/USA-E-Breakout/index.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_Blumenson

http://www.armchairgeneral.com/martin-blumenson-my-remembrance-of-a-friend.htm

Overlord - D-Day and the battle of Normandy by Max Hastings

Gonna argue against this one, book is about 30 years out of date with recent works. Normandy historiography has evolved a lot over even the last decade, let alone three. Frankly I would argue that newer the book is the better, even though there are recent works which are mediocre at best. 1980's revisionist works were good for their time, but their explanations for a lot of stuff does not hold a candle compared to modern stuff.

I can't really offer any good up to date study of the campaign as a whole, though I can offer books that focus on aspects of Normandy. Personally I have been focused on the Anglo-Canadian side more recently, so for that my recommendations are:

British Armour in the Normandy Campaign 1944 by John Buckley

Colossal Cracks - 21st Army group in Normandy by Stephen Hart

Fields of Fire - Canadians in Normandy by Terry Copp