Playing a WW2 game

Ivanov

I have some experience with CM Black Sea and now I start getting into the Red Thunder. What I've noticed from the very start, is that comparing to the modern warfare, with it's lethality and man portable anti tank weapons, the infantry in RT is pretty helpless against the enemy vehicles. For example I start a scenario with German recon platoon - infantry loaded in Sd.Kfz. 251's. As soon as they bump into a Soviet recon element supported even by the light T-70 tanks, they get wiped out. The German recon has  Panzerfaust teams, but with their effective range of 30 meters, they can be useful only if they manage to ambush enemy vehicles in urban terrain or a forest. For now, I figure that the best course of action for my recon or infantry, is to withdraw as soon as the enemy vehicles are encountered and wait for my own tanks or anti-tank units. What are your thoughts?

Edited by Ivanov

For now, I figure that the best course of action for my recon or infantry, is to withdraw as soon as the enemy vehicles are encountered and wait for my own tanks or anti-tank units. What are your thoughts?

Yes, I agree.  When you withdraw as you suggest look for places where they can ambush that armour - town, forest, farm stead etc.  That way if your enemy is too aggressive you can make them pay for it.

Yes, I agree.  When you withdraw as you suggest look for places where they can ambush that armour - town, forest, farm stead etc.  That way if your enemy is too aggressive you can make them pay for it.

So without at least a Stug, I shouldn't think of confronting the enemy? Makes me wonder how the WW2 German infantry of that period must have suffered. The game obviously focuses on the more sexy, tank heavy engagements, but in real life it was the less glamorous foot soldiers who bore the brunt of fighting...