How are people doing against the A.I. ?

z1812

I have been playing CM since 1999. I have always enjoyed playing PBEM as well as against the A.I.

With the previous games, I have found the A.I. gave me some tense moments but usually I prevailed and won.

CMBS is much more challenging for me. I have played the small battles up to "Object Delta" and have not won once.

I don't mind as I find the scenarios very interesting and the challenge to be fun.

How are you all doing against the A.I. ?

I've always done a lot better with the modern titles, so I got up to speed with CMBS pretty quickly I think. It helps that I've spent a fair amount of time thinking about how best to use Motor Rifle Troops - the difference here is that the Russians (unlike the Syrians) actually have the tools to make use of them, relatively speaking.

In terms of the small battles, August Morning took a fair few attempts to get the hang of, but the last time I ran through it I only took one casualty, and that was probably unnecessary. Part of the issue I'm finding (against the AI and in PBEM) is that being stationary for more than a few minutes can be a death sentence - precision artillery, AGL's and missiles can all cause havoc out of nowhere.

I play at iron, the A.I. is easy to beat on any Quick Battle, even with a 30% reduction in forces. It is much tougher to beat in the Battles.

I find the QB's are quite winnable...............as you say the battles are harder.

I usually play at Elite level. Iron confuses the hell out of me.

I mostly play vs. the AI. Campaigns and Scenarios are significantly more difficult and fun than QBs IMO. In QBs the AI occasionally does weird things. Most of the time the QB AI does OK, but sometimes it just really feels like something went wrong.

I am currently getting my ass kicked in Going to Town battle scenario playing as Russians. It's defenitely cool to see those triggers in play - gets the immersion factor up and makes the game harder.