And I thought it was just a CMSF issue....

...but no. This game is hard as f***. It's harder than...well, I will just stop there.

Finally getting a chance to fire this bad boy up and I am getting my balls ground into a fine paste by the AI. Could be that I am just a noob but as a CMBO, CMBB and CMAK vet...I doubt it. Not sure why I am sucking it but I am looking forward to finding that out.

Good job, BFC. You brought it!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What is it that you're getting mashed by? ATGs (they're a lot harder to spot than CMx1)? AI Artillery (hugely improved)? Or one of the other step changes?

Or it might just be the scenario you've picked... they're listed in alphabetical order and vary in difficulty just a lot, with the first one being perhaps the trickiest.

Not sure why I am sucking...

It's just you. Nobody else has any problems at all.

;):D

Seriously, it's quite a change. Or rather a whole sackful of changes, and you're just going to have to master them all one by one. Fortunately, most of the process is fun, but it's best to play with the manual in one hand for a while. Recommend that you start off with smaller, easier scenarios and don't attempt anything big or hard for a while or you will simply be overwhelmed. Doing the tutorials is recommended.

[Added] Also, you may be playing at too hard a setting. Try Basic for a game or two and then ease your way up the difficulty level until it becomes so hard to play that you don't like it any more, then back off a notch.

Michael

CMSF basegame had some pretty easy scenarios. That's because everybody was a newbie at the game engine. By the 4th module, NATO, it was figured purchasers would tend to be game vets so difficulty level was upped deliberately. Give 'em a bit of a challenge compared to the basegame stuff. A couple scenarios in there are enough to make a grown man cry. ;)