What's the reasoning for the long wait times for artillery in Combat Mission

I am not trying to say it's unrealistic, I am not an expert in any way and I would like to understand a bit better.  I was talking to my dad who was a lieutenant in an artillery detachment in Vietnam and he said mortar and artillery fire came through within minutes of it being called. 

I understand long call in times for German and Soviet artillery in WW2 but what about the US who are famous for their artillery usage?

Does it take 5 minutes in real life for a platoon leader to call in fire from a mortar platoon next to the company commander?

Does it take 10 minutes in real life to get the first spotting round from a priest artillery battery?

Okay so that 5 minute wait time is them receiving the location (I can understand that taking some time), calculating the direction and angle to fire? I just figured mortars would sling rounds down range in the general direction and the person calling the fire would radio back to adjust.

I have noticed in a quick battle I'm playing that the arrival of spotting rounds and the time it takes for the spotter, officer or FO, to call in "Fire for effect" often seems to be depend on the status of the spotter. If his experience isn't too good and if he's either nervous, shattered or the third option I forgot, the time to call in fire for effect takes longer time.

I just don't understand why a nervous or shattered spotter should take longer time to direct the spotting rounds as he's far away from the enemy when doing it.

Edited by BornGinger

17 minutes ago, BornGinger said:

I just don't understand why a nervous or shattered spotter should take longer time to direct the spotting rounds as he's far away from the enemy when doing it.

"Ok but I hope you understand that you won't receive a Christmascard from me this year." A British captain to his FO during the Falkland's campaign. They are not too far away from the enemy. 

1 hour ago, BornGinger said: