A plead for assitance from a complete newbe

Hello everyone.

A few days ago, I took my first step into tactical strategy games with CM:Final blitzkrieg.

As per requested in the game manual, I started the training campaign.

The first two mission ware self explanatory. I learned the mechanics and UI and managed to complete them without any problem.

Then I got to the third mission and thing got complected, in that mission you need to fend off an attack on a town and then counter attack a specific point on the map.

The first part of the mission start with artillery and AT tutorial, and then after troop reinforcement arrives you are told to use it either to bolster your defenses or use them for the counter attack.

After that, the tutorial tells you to sort thing out yourself.

5 hours later, I still fail to wrap my head around and strategy that works, you either fortify the reinforcement at some defensible position and see them attrition due to artillery, or send them counter attacking via different avenues that end up kill the lot of them before even 100m of the target.

As you may understand, I need some guidance as to how to undestrnd the battlefield in this kind of scenario, what to look for and how to best approach this game.

Also,any link to written or video material that could help me understand the game better would be appreciated.

Thank you all in advance.

Edited by Thatguy

• Thatguy changed the title to A plead for assitance from a complete newbe

I'd like to help, but your question is very broad and general. Basically this game is about fire and movement.

If you just order infantry to run forwards towards the enemy, don't expect them to automatically find cover and return fire at sensible locations.

Your basic task is to use as small a force as possible to bait the enemy to reveal himself, and then use support weapons to blast those positions and/or fire and movement to suppress them and move assault teams into range.