Some inspiration for BattleFront's future games?

I'm not trying to tell BattleFront what to do or how to do it, seriously, I'm a friendly, don't shoot! :)

But with that out of the way, I would like to show a video I found yesterday.

It shows the engine for the next game in the Mount and Blade series. It's a very different game from Combat Mission, but the editor seems to allow for some extremely detailed and beautiful maps.

Especially the tesselation of the fields would be a great feature to see in future versions of Combat Mission. More and more detail appearing as you zoom in. Yes, it's just graphics, but while gameplay is king, I think most of us like to be as immersed in the game as possible.

Also, the way they create the map while being "in game" means seeing the results immediately, speeding up the creative process.

I am not a programmer, and I am sure you cannot just copy/paste this tech into the Combat Mission engine, but I thought I would share as inspiration.

(Mount and Blade is created by a small studio called TaleWorlds. I am not in any way affiliated with them, and I hope it's ok to post about other games in this forum).

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It looks like rural idyll, but that's just the art direction. Could easily have been used to make a grimy war scene with bombed out buildings instead of picturesque castle ruins :)

But of course, it might be difficult to combine flowing terrain like this with the tile-based nature of a wargame.

IIRC Steve regrets choosing OpenGL as engine for CM. There was also a line from Phil that he asked not to have to change the UI because the code was horrible.

But IMHO we will see an engine change not too far in the future. The game UI does not scale very well with higher resolutions. Apple moves to high DPI displays for all their laptops in the near future and other manufacturers will follow suite (if they haven't already).