120mm german mortar question

I bought some 120mm mortar units in the QB screen and flagged them as on map. They showed up as off map and so I filed a bug. BFCs answer was that these are heavy mortars and so are never on map.

I'm not an expert and got curious. The wikipedia article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Granatwerfer_42) says that it was used as an infantry support weapon and was monted on a two wheel axle. Not a lightweight at 280kg but probably lighter then some of the guns you CAN move around in CMBN.

So wheres the reasoning to only have them off map?

Maybe they will be made on-map assets later, but for now I would assume their minimum ranges and/or the weight/portability of ammo.

How many 120mm rounds would you like to hump across a field? ;)

Imagine the size of the ammo bearer teams and/or number of rounds available for on-map 120mm.

The on-map 120s would be pricey and have low ammo counts.

120mm mortars would only be used on map in emergency situations. Most likely something like ambush. I don't think any army was crazy enough to suggest using them as close support weapons. In cross-country terrain the 120mm mortar is practically immobile. And you can't have enough ammo for it, one shell is approximately 10kg.

So, from cost-benefit point of view there is little reason to include the 120mm mortar on map.

Chuck Norris used to jog around and Shoulder-Fire / Hip-Fire 120mm mortars. But the closest thing that Battle Front has come to modeling Chuck Norris so far are the bailed out AFV crews. :D .... and they don't quite have what it takes to quickly set up, move and lug around 20-30 rounds of 120mm mortar ammo.

But seriously, I think you would need a pretty large map that has in-depth, dug-in defenses to justify having on-map 120mm mortars. ... that or a siege-type situation where you are trying to break some dug-in positions and have plenty of time to go about it.