What has changed in the code to make building rooftops ridiculous death traps?

DaveDash

I was doing an AAR for Following the Euphrates but I got completely owned by the AI when I moved men onto the roof.

Now, they were rooftops with the small walls, looking DOWN on the enemy, who had guys in the BACK corners of buildings riping my guys to shreds through multiple walls. Like honestly half my squad would die as soon as going on the roof. I would have done better to run them out in the open.

I remember I think c3k starting a thread where one his guys shot through 3 walls killing the AI on the roof, well, this seems to happen both ways. It's almost as if there is a LOS/LOE bug with being on a roof.

I also remember when I started playing the Brits module at being surprised by an entire squad being wiped out on the roof the objective building in mission 1, which overlooks all other buildings in that mission. Ive also subsiquently noticed playing some older missions where I remember there being a lot of resistance, the AI's troops are all wiped out. They're either on rooftops or balconies. Something has definitely changed here.

I dont have any saves sorry, since I quit in frustration, but Im sure I could whip up a quick test if need be. However im sure other people MUST have noticed this?

EDIT

So I just did a test. Blank map, with one building 1 story and the other 3 stories. US squad on the roof, Syrian squad in the building.

The entire US squad was cut down in SECONDS except for one scared sh1tless dude.

rooftopowned.jpg

Edit: I crossposted with Sergei and DaveDash. Sergei, where is the intent to correct this behavior stated by BF.C/a rep? My original is below:

As you've stated, I did start a thread with a similar theme. My "issue" (my quotes!) was and is that the fire can be traced THROUGH multiple levels of a building, as well as THROUGH multiple external walls.