Scenario Design Tips

Lots of threads for the sake of giving advice have been popping up since Ianl and MethodGamer started their committee led AAR. And by lots I mean three or so. But the spirit of camaraderie is strong in the forum, and their horse is still, well... pretty horsey. Not a hint of camel.

So I've started playing around with the editor, and I've been designing a map with a member over at FGM. I'm learning a lot about the editor everyday, but I'm still pretty new to it. 

Does anyone with more experience have any tips for ease of use? Things you wish some grizzled vet had told you on your first day? Anything at all that pops to mind, whether it be advanced techniques, tips on creativity, quirks that aren't all that apparent or just general philosophy when designing.

I know there's a lot of knowledge on these forums. Thanks in advance.

Lol thanks for the advice guys. I'll check out Proambulator's vids. 

@MikeyD I wouldn't be messing around with it if it wasn't fun, and I'm definitely not going to try too hard :) ... to be honest, I don't see myself as being the kind of person to make historically accurate scenarios. Rather, I'd rather make QB's and fictional H2H scenarios. Nothing too weird though, trust me. I just want to make good, interesting battles.

JonS, I like what you said about telling stories. Before I even read that I was trying to imagine everything's purpose, how everything relates to the people that live on the "map". It made me rethink placement of flavor objects and paths and the like, and now I'm starting to view everything with a little more logic.

In my humble opinion, I think there are three pitfalls that many designers stumble into: