Accuracy of Walls, Doors, and Windows in Buildings

I am new to CMx2 and have seen a lack of accuracy in terms of doors and windows in buildings.  For example, during one battle, I ordered a squad to approach a building from behind.  The back of the building had no windows or doors; it appeared to be just a solid brick wall.  I moved the squad up against this brick wall.  I didn't know if any Germans were inside, but without any visibility or openings to shoot through, I assumed the squad was safe.  The next thing I know, the occupants of the house opened fire on the squad through the brick wall, killing all of them with bullets and even a grenade.  

I have had other instances where a squad entered a building miraculously through a wall with no doors or windows. But then, at other times, when giving a squad a command to enter a building, the squad has had to run around the building to a door to enter, possibly exposing them to enemy fire.  I have had troops inside a building able to have line of sight through solid walls in some cases and not in others.

I just don't know whether to believe the accuracy of doors, windows, and walls on buildings or not. And not knowing this can be very costly.

I would appreciate any comments.

I am new to CMx2 and have seen a lack of accuracy in terms of doors and windows in buildings.  For example, during one battle, I ordered a squad to approach a building from behind.  The back of the building had no windows or doors; it appeared to be just a solid brick wall.  I moved the squad up against this brick wall.  I didn't know if any Germans were inside, but without any visibility or openings to shoot through, I assumed the squad was safe.  The next thing I know, the occupants of the house opened fire on the squad through the brick wall, killing all of them with bullets and even a grenade.