Noobie just picked up CMBN big bundle

Hey guys, after watching youtube vids and playing the demo I picked up the big bundle. I am brand new at the series and very excited to start playing. If there are any mentors out there looking for a student let me know, as I have heard this game has a large learning curve. See you all on the battlefield.

Look for the post by Agusto at URL = http://www.battlefront.com/community/showthread.php?t=114053&page=4

Here's what he says.

You usually learn as you go, but there are tons of excellent tutorials on youtube, like the one done by the Armchair General magazine:

There is a Wiki:

http://combatmission.wikia.com/wiki/Combat_Mission_Wiki

And this Website:

http://battledrill.blogspot.co.at/20...lems-cmtp.html

Further info can be found in any reasonable article about real WW2 tactics. The rule of the thumb in CM is that if you do it the way you would be doing it in real life, you are doing it right.

Antmf,

If you'd like a peek at another noob's CMBN breaking in period, you might find mine of some interest.

John Kettler vs CMBN

http://battlefront.com/community/showthread.php?t=105379

In any event, am sure you're going to be absolutely thrilled with your purchase, for which CMx3.0 is now pending. That's the beauty of the new engine family. The latest and the greatest in one game appears ere long in the others, regardless of theater. Thus, CMBN lagged CMFI for a time, then eclipsed it. CMRT eclipses both, but in a few months, CMBN and CMFI will be upgradeable to 3.0, and you'll be there!

Regards,

John Kettler

Congratulations! The big bundle is a smart choice. And, very likely, it will end up being pennies per hour of enjoyment--or even less.

As for the content, start out with the Devon Basic Training Campaign, then go to Task Force Raff. After that, The Road to Montebourg is a good choice for newer players.

As for scenarios, Platoon Patrol and CW 18 Platoon are excellent starter scenarios.