Why is it........?

I have every Combat Mission game starting with "Barbarossa to Berlin" and ending with "Final Blitzkrieg". I am thankful  to the computer gaming magazine media, many of which have forever faded away from the magazine rack, for providing me with the means to acquaint myself with the "Battlefront" gaming experience where grognards go to chase their own Drag(o)ons. Inside one of the magazines was an included cd-rom complete with upcoming game demo's inside was the demo for Combat Mission the install started my Drag(o)on chasing and I purchased  "Barbarossa to Berlin".  I had to anxiously await for the mailman to deliver it and when it arrived my eyes feasted on that, heavy, soft- covered, 264 page manual, nightly. The fix was in, I was\still hooked today.

Basically, over the times, I started playing less and less till I eventually stopped, if a major game patch came along, new game or an add-on came out I would re-immerse myself.  But, then again, as usual, I'd get so damned frustrated and put them away after hearing the game engine limitation excuse over and over again and now after game engine 4.0 comes out the same game engine limitation problems are still here. Just after buying the 4.0 game engine upgrades for all the versions I own and immersing myself once again, I'm just about ready to once again retire them, I'll probably hold off till my CMFI upgrade comes out to see if I can keep myself from walking away from it once and for all.

The funny thing about all this is after not playing for a long, long time you can't remember what it was that made you give up the ghost. After a while you reach a point long after your absence to give it a try again, because, once again, you can't place your finger on one game annoyance that would totally dissuade you from giving it one more try, right? After all, they just released Game Engine 4.0, right? Heck, maybe those game engine limitations have been corrected, right?