Squad Footprint - How does it look/work

With 1v1 modeling, I have been wondering how the squad footprint will look/act. Will you be able to set the squad in different formations that will affect its footprint? I would like to see a different footprints of space and concentration ranging from a squad defending in two man foxholes to assaulting in an urban environment.

And how will you handle routed me in regards to the squad footprint. If 1 man routes, runs away, and then recovers, how do you control him?

If you have already answered this, sorry I missed it. But I have been paying fairly close attention for the last 8 months, and dont remember you speaking to this in detail.

that one seems to be still up in the air because no one really wants to know or agree to the fact that it may still be "Just one point"

BUT

that's all it might be until we hear otherwise or

"there is some form of abstraction involved"

but I don't know what they have in mind for this one????

:confused: :confused:

-tom w

Originally posted by Kurtz:

I'm a bit curious about this as well.

What was the squad footprint during WW2? 50x50 meters?

Probably depended on the terrain and the tactical situation. Also the degree of experience. Green troops tended to bunch up more, but nearly all troops will bunch up some when under stress.

Most of the photos I've seen, including those apparently taken in real combat would lead one to believe that a squad would occupy about 10X20 meters or less in most situations. The pictures taken during training or that looked suspiciously like they were staged showed more open formations. Your guess of 50X50 meters sounds to me more like what a platoon would occupy.

Michael

I recall old times of Close Combat series. Each soldier is modelled, commands gives to a squad.