Tanks and guns accuracy

I recently started playing Combat Mission again after not having played the game since old CM and several years ago.

I enjoy the game, but it seems to me that guns and tanks are extremely accurate when they shoot. They rarely miss their first shot. Is that really realistic?

I enjoy the game, but it seems to me that guns and tanks are extremely accurate when they shoot. They rarely miss their first shot. Is that really realistic?

As noted, this is situation dependent. Against a hull down or even partially hull down target at 1000 meters any gun or tank in the game will miss the first shot more often than not. But a fully exposed motionless tank at 500 meters will indeed be hit on the first shot most of the time and yes, that is realistic. Cannon accuracy in the older CMx1 games was too low by far and was the subject of significant forum controversy back in the day. Actually, even the new improved CMx2 accuracy is on the conservative side of reality with the exception of vehicle firing while moving (a deliberate fudge, and a small one at that).

I also played CMx1 and then started playing CMx2, and it's Night & Day as far as Gun Accuracy is concerned...In CMx2 I generally play on Small-Med Maps, and find that I can hit Targets 9 out of 10 times.

Altho, the CMx2 Gun Accuracy may be more realistic then CMx1 I still think it's alittle to much, and often wonder if BF has directly modeled the CMSF Gun Accuracy for WWII (Modern Optics, Laser, etc ).  

Joe

Edited by JoMc67

directly modeled the CMSF Gun Accuracy for WWII.