Panthers Too Cheap?????

Hey there.

I just started playing PBEM games with a new group of people, a group that tends to play extremely armour heavy, at least compared to what I'm used to.

It was a Medium Meeting Engagement, my opponent fielded:

Three Panther VG Early and Two Stugs

My Brits took:

Two Sherman 75mm and Two Sherman 76mm

I kept a log of the Armour engagement, as detailed below:

19 x 76mm HITs at Ranges 275m to 659m

4 x 75mm HITs at Ranges 401m to 492m

23 Hits to destroy one Panther.

Not unrealistic, considering the number of hits to the weapon mount and front glacis. Someone with better knowledge might like to speak on this.

You take your shots where you can get em' in a map full of armour, it's not like they're going to willingly present a flank to you very often.

The Panthers made 4 Hits to destroy 2 Shermans, again not unrealistic.

I have no problem with Panthers being hard to kill, chewing up Shermans with their 75s, or even being numerous on the field.

However it seems to me, considering their survivability and the the regularly huge disparity in hit's required per kill, that Panthers are severely under priced for the purposes of force allocation.

3 Sherman 76mm are roughly the same price as 2 Panthers.

It just doesn't stack up to me.

Thoughts????

PANTHER (1) VG Early

76mm > HIT Wheels > 631m

76mm > PENETRATION Weapon mount > 631m

76mm > HIT Weapon Mount > 631m

76mm > PENETRATION Upper Front Hull > 263m

76mm > HIT Upper Front Hull > 275m

76mm > PENETRATION Lower Front Hull > 306m

PANTHER > PENTRATING HIT on Sherman 76mm > Front Hull

76mm > HIT Upper Front Hull > 306

PANTHER DESTROYED > Para Satchel Charge through bocage.

PANTHER (HQ) VG Early

75mm > HIT Lower Front Hull > 401m

75mm > HIT Weapon Mount > 492m

76mm > PARTIAL PENETRATION Front Hull > 341m

PANTHER > PENTRATION on Sherman > Front Hull

75mm > PENETRATION Weapon Mount > 492m

PANTHER > PENETRATION on Sherman DESTROYED.

76mm > HIT Weapon Mount > 432m