Assistance getting enemy inf in buildings to alert me of their existance

Attilaforfun

Let me preface this by stating that I am a CMx2 noob (which will no doubt become immediately obvious) despite owning RT for years. CMBB I know well but I have only recently actually took the time to learn the new mechanics and started playing the new ones. I am impressed and overall the CMx2 games are a great improvement over the old ones (which I still love).

I recently experienced something that told me I have much to learn about these games. I am on scenario 3 of the relief of AGN campaign for RT. The first objective (village) was very close to initial starting position so I figured it wouldn't be heavily occupied. (I based this on the previous 2 scenarios in the campaign where the first half of the map had been engagement with light forces while the scenario climax occurred at the back of the map.