Is there any truth to the rumor that...

Yee Gads... those had to be some truly terrible things to choke down. No offense to the Brits here, but I can't imagine much worse, particularly during wartime. Of course some of our Marines on Guadalcanal had to make due with rations from the first world war. :eek:

Yee Gads... [british Army rations] had to be some truly terrible things to choke down. No offense to the Brits here, but I can't imagine much worse...

I don't have to imagine it. In the early 80's I was a soldier in the Australian Army Reserve. At the time I had only a rudimentary understanding of nutrition but even then, as a callow 18 year old grunt, I was shocked at the almost complete absence of roughage available in the one man ration packs. I have grown up since then. I now hold an executive level position in a large organisation (it’s not as glamorous as it sounds) and I have a more sophisticated understanding of logistics and resource management.

One of the problems of moving through the bush in platoon and company sized units is the absence of ablutions facilities in the virgin Australian bushland. We were issued with entrenching tools and when we needed to ablute we were told dig a hole in a quiet spot and take care of business as quickly as possible.

Hygiene in the field is important so each one man ration pack contained a single sheet of toilet paper.

I tried. God knows I tried. I took my entrenching tool and my sheet of toilet paper and tried to carry out my duty as a soldier and a human being. But my bowels refused to cooperate. I failed on every occasion. I felt like the opposite of Charlie Sheen and I cursed those ration pack engineers as fools and incompetents.