QB PBEM ettiquette

I have just started some PBEMs and the first two set-ups were sent to me by my opponents. Now I am starting to generate QBs for PBEM and sending them back for subsequent games, so I wanted some of your thoughts on the ettiquette of QB map and force selection (did a search, but this particular issue didn’t seem to be covered).

I’ll start by saying I trust the two guys I am playing, so I have no problems with the maps and set-ups I got from them (we discussed what forces, hills, weather etc beforehand), but now that I am setting up QBs, what is the appropriate ettiquette?

For instance, if we agree on force make-up, points, weather and map size and hilliness etc, should I just send off the first random map and force that is generated, or is it okay to keep generating QB maps until I get one that seems to favour me (although, as a newbie I have found that set-ups that I at first thought favoured me rapidly proved not to be the case)? Say I want to play with a force that has tanks rather than a mess of armoured cars, or I want veteran troops rather than a greater number of regulars, or I want to try a QB with a spotter? Can I generate QBs until I get one that seems to meet my requirements and then send it off, or should I take pot luck?

In playing future QB PBEMs, should I assume that my opponent has chosen the map and force mix that they think best favours them, or is it more likely that it is purely random for both of us?

Guest NigelO

Originally posted by Panzer Leader:

Wait a minute! You can't see the map until you've picked forces and the other guy has too. What are you talking about?!?!

Er, allowing the computer to select forces starts the game with the setup map, doesn't it?

Seems to me that you should spend your time playing the game, rather than trying to get some nebulous advantage by starting over - but then, you knew that, didn't you? wink.gif

------------------

Just nod if you can hear me.