AT Guns For All CM Games

My friends and I have been playing CM for 20 years back to CM1 when there was a CM game in Africa.  We think that CM is the gold standard when it comes to tactical games.  However something that I think could be improved is AT guns.  For example the feared 88 MM.  There are few scenarios in any of the CM games where the map is large enough that an 88 can out range a tank.  Historically the 88 could take out Allied tanks even before they could get in to range.  Secondly my experience is that all AT guns are extremely vulnerable to enemy tanks no matter what kind of terrain or cover they are in.  It seems they almost always get knocked out before even getting off a shot.  

My friend and I are currently playing the TWC Nijmegen Finale scenario in CMBN and I've lost 3 AT guns including an 88 without any of them getting a shot off.  It is a small map with short sight lines so they are basically useless.  All the AT guns were in either foxholes, or the v shaped sandbags.  Enemy infantry and tanks don't seem to have an problem spotting AT guns.  I can understand the 88 with it's high profile but the other AT guns have lower profiles.

Maybe I am employing AT guns incorrectly although like I said I've been playing for 20 years so I've tried everything.

Just a note about this scenario.  There is another scenario Nijmegen Road Bridge is very similar to this one.  In fact even though I am playing this scenario I can't find TWC Nigmegen in my list of scenarios.

is your opponent area targetting the ground where your AT gun is? Typically AT guns will spot tanks first and if they dont get suppressed by MG or cannon fire in return then the AT gun will start landing shots. Close range is not a survivable environment for AT guns. The Nijmegan map doesnt have long lines of sight. 

I personally have found at guns in trenches to be absolutely ridiculously strong. They are very difficult to kill.