How do I area-target behind a hedgerow?

Since I started playing this game, I have been struggling with how to target the action square immediately behind a hedgerow. Maybe I am doing it wrong?

Let's say I spot some enemy taking cover behind bocage. I want to target my tank to hit them as best possible, but the tank itself doesn't spot the enemy.

What I do:

I select my tank, click the target order, and then hover the mouse over the action square behind the bocage. The line is red, no LOS. I then fiddle around with the mouse on the actual hedge itself, until I get a blue LOS. I click to target.

But oh, the red target line doesn't poke through the hedge. It just goes to the square in front of the hedge.

So I click the target order again, and fiddle again with the mouse over the hedge. I click, no luck. I'm again targeting the square in front.

This continues sometimes several times, but EVENTUALLY I usually find the magic pixel, and the red targeting line pokes through the hedge and I can fire away.

But suddenly it struck me: am I doing this wrong? Am I actually supposed to fire at the square in front of the hedge?

Or if not, any ideas about how to more consistently "hit the spot"?

There is a trick to it ( yeah, no kidding ;) )

What you do, is you turn the camera 180 degrees and position yourself so you can see the enemy side of the hedgerow. Now get your blue LoS line up to the hedge again. ( from above looking down almost vertically is best )

95% of the time, you can now get the red targeting line to "take" through the hedgerow. You may have to click 2 or 3 times, but try it, it often works.

Don't ask me why it works like that though :)

There is a trick to it ( yeah, no kidding ;) )

What you do, is you turn the camera 180 degrees and position yourself so you can see the enemy side of the hedgerow. Now get your blue LoS line up to the hedge again. ( from above looking down almost vertically is best )