Map Size and Tank Battles, Recon...

Hello All:

I am new to the series and have a question, not trying to start a flamewar or anything close to it.

A few posts say that recon vehicles are not appropriate for these missions as these vehicles would be used before we got to the point of the mission start. Also, my understanding is that battles between the really big tanks work best on larger maps and it seems there is a problem currently with computers be able to play on larger maps.

So I am wondering why Battlefront would have a game that seems not suited to big battles. I assume some changes will be made down the road to allow for bigger maps to work for all players? So that recon vehicles could be used in the usual role and Panthers, etc. could showcase their strengths better?

Thanks,

Gerry

So I am wondering why Battlefront would have a game that seems not suited to big battles.

Because that's the game they wanted to design? They've built a system with a particular level of detail. That the level of detail will impose limits to the maximum practicable size of a battle is a given. You can play big battles on big rigs. If you want a Regiment-scale battle, though, a squad-scale game is probably not going to cut the mustard.

Most of the lethal range engagement by anti-tank (or tank) in the sector of Normandy that CMBN simulates (the US sector and taken from US figures for July/August 1944) was less than 600m (source John Buckley: British Armour in the Normandy Campaign). So big maps in CMBN would not make too much difference due to the close range of engagements.