Thoughts on what happens in Syria after the Shock Force 2008 hypothetical war.

Sequoia

I think its a foregone conclusion that in Battlefront's hypothetical 2008 war in Syria, Syrian is defeated and occupied by NATO forces. I was thinking what happens then? The unfortunate "mission accomplished" sign on the US Carrier when President George W Bush visited after the Coalition overrun of Iraq come to mind. 

I'm no expert on Syria but some thoughts come to mind (which are probably overly simplistic). Syria is 90% Sunni Moslem, 10% Christian and 3% Druze  (I'll let you look up who the Druze are yourself if you don't know) . Of the Sunni however, 10% are of the Alawite branch. The Assad family is Alawite and Alawites dominate the Syrian government and hold key military positions according to Wikipedia. I'm thinking given the less diverse composition of the Syrian population, and given a minority ruling class is replaced by a more diverse democratic government installed by NATO, the likelihood of the post occupation violence that occurred in Iraq would be much less. The later real world civil war in Syria was largely led by non-Alawite Sunnis. Your thoughts?

IMHO.....Iran.  ;)

By this I mean that after ticking Iraq off the list in 2003 and Syria in 2008, the US & NATO then go into Iran in around 2012.

At this point the Shia explode into violence across Iraq, Syria & Lebanon (with covert support from Russia who are still smarting after the loss of their Syrian ally).....The resistance organisation OSIRIS (Organisation for the Shia Islamic Resistance in Iraq & Syria) leads the fight against 'The Crusaders'.  :ph34r:

The sectarian fighting soon spreads to Saudia Arabia & Bahrain, both of which are subjected to heavy bombardment by Iran's unexpectedly large & capable SRBM, IRBM & cruise missile force.  Saudia Arabia is rendered uninhabitable overnight by a concentrated strike on the kingdom's desalination facilities.