Underrated and Overrated Small Arms in CM

I'm new at Combat Mission and I just downloaded the demo a couple of days ago.

I have been very impressed with the game so far and I am planing to buy the full version of the game soon.

However I have noticed that some of the infantry weapons seem to be modeled incorrectly in my opinion. Specifically, it seems to me that the Mp-44 and M-2 Browning should be more powerful compared to other weapons in the game. Also I think that the K-98 is slightly over represented.

I was wondering if any of these things have been corrected in the full version of CM.

Also could someone explain the how relative power of small arms is determined in CM.

Sorry, Over-represented may have been a poor choice of words.

What I meant was that the K-98 should be modeled as less powerful compared to the M-1. I realize that this is already the case to some extent, however the numbers out at 500m are the same. Due to the fact that the K-98 had a bolt action and a smaller clip than the m-1, it seems that it should have less firepower than is currently depicted.

One bullet does the job? At 500m?!

Yeah Right!

I would think that it would be a matter of volume of aimed fire at that distance. It would be really hard to hit something the size of a human at 500m. Either the m-1 should be increased a half a point of fire power or the K-98 should be decreased half a point. The increase or decrease should be even greater at 250m.

I own both a K98 and an M-1. You may have a point, but I don't know much about the specific numbers CM uses.

Bear in mind most firepower in an infantry squad comes from the MG or automatic weapons; rifles are more of a security blanket for the others.

At 500 metres, I don't think you would notice any difference between the two - since no one would hit a damn thing at that range, anyway!

The K98 isn't heavy at all, either! tongue.gif That steel buttplate isn't pleasant, though.