Future Combat Mission?

Okay, I'm a newbie and have probably missed discussions on this before, but...

What is the future for CM? I've heard that there will be a CM2 on the Eastern Front and rumours about a CMII with improved engine.

What I want to know is:

Will the CM(II) engine be used for modern day warfare?

Just imagine seeing all your little men spew out of bradleys as atgms fly across the landscape and helos fly close support.

As much as I love the WW2 battles, I can't help but imagine what this would be like for modern day weaponry.

So, anyone know if this is going to happen/want this to happen?

Skorp

Okay, I'm a newbie and have probably missed discussions on this before, but...

Learn the ways of the SEARCH Luke.... smile.gif

What I want to know is:

Will the CM(II) engine be used for modern day warfare?

No chance.

Also, you should realize that while BTS said they MIGHT do a modern CM in the future, it's waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay down the line.

They are booked solid for several years with their first love, WWII.

I would think modern war games present all sorts of headaches for a CM arena. Helicopters have to be factored in, and in a MAJOR way. Dropping troops, attacking, etc etc. Not likely CMII will be designed to model missles or helo's.

[This message has been edited by Phoenix (edited 03-16-2001).]

[This message has been edited by Phoenix (edited 03-16-2001).]

BTS said that they didn't know what they would be doing after CM 2, 3, and 4. That means that they might do a modern edition, or the Pacific, Korea, the 6 day war (on my wish list), but they're keeping their options open.

------------------

Well my skiff's a twenty dollar boat, And I hope to God she stays afloat.

But if somehow my skiff goes down, I'll freeze to death before I drown.

And pray my body will be found, Alaska salmon fishing, boys, Alaska salmon fishing.

The Last Defense- Free hosting for your CM pictures!

Guest KwazyDog

Hi Skorpion,