Tips for playing Soviets?

Hi, I'm relatively new to Combat Mission (picked it up last year), but became hooked quickly. I have spent nearly all my time playing the U.S. due to understanding it being a relatively newcomer friendly faction. I have played a good deal of CMFI and CMFB, with a little experience in RT and BFN. I have been rotating through the games, coming around to RT again, and I'm looking at playing the Soviets. The few other times I've played them, I've really struggled with the infantry, though so far I've spent most of my time with partisans (I've seen advice saying to start with small scenarios and work your way up). I know that these formations are relatively low-quality, but I do find that they handle very differently from U.S. G.I.s. The lack of rifle grenades and mortars are what really make the difference (Though, of course, they make up for it in other ways - more PPSHs, real LMGs, etc.).

The manual advises players that they have to think differently playing as the Red Army, with the one-up rule and centralized planning, but I think I'm really struggling to wrap my head around it. As the U.S. I've learned a pretty rudimentary (but functional!) approach... Contact W/scout teams--> Bring up fire support --> destroy enemy -->  Repeat. I don't really think this works as the Soviets, or at least, it hasn't worked as the partisans.

I've also gotten a few more small-scale takeaways from my time with the US, like "German MGs are really scary!" and "Don't engage panzers from the front with shermans!" "Germans like to deploy in reverse slope/covered positions in order to mitigate fire disadvantages!"