A Beginners Tale: Story of crystal tanks

Sorry, long post here... 😐

This post I write out of frustration, after the mauling of my tanks in my last games of CMRT that I called off yesterday.
I started playing Combat Mission a little more than one month ago. I was a Squad Leader player a LONG time ago (more than 25 years!). This is the story of my discovery of the dynamics of tanks in combat mission: tanks vs. tanks and tanks vs. AT guns. A very frustrating one indeed.πŸ₯΄

Chapter I
I started with the CMFI training campaign. In the last mission, you get 5 Sherman tanks against 2 Pz III and 2 Pz IV. When my Sherman arrived on map, they only faced one remaining Pz IV. I carefully advanced three of the Sherman to face it, at a distance of about 400 m. Seconds later, one Sherman was ablaze and another one abandoned by its crew after partial penetration.
I finally managed to get rid of the Pz IV, blinding him with smoke to allow my remaining tanks to get into firing position, but the surviving Pz IV (Regular rated) crew memeber only abandoned its machine after SIX penetrating (or partially penetrating) shots on targets, plus a 7th boucing on it with no damage. Three Sherman, 7 shots on target to get rid of a Pz IV...

Chapter II
I decided to play the CMRT training campaign next. In the last mission you have to assault a German village defended by a Tiger and a handful of StuG III, with plenty of armors (including heavy JS and JSU-152) and infantry on your side.