Limited firing of smoke?

I'm new to CM, trying to find my way through the commands and I did not find an answer to this in the forum - please excuse me if this has indeed been answered before: When firing smoke directly from a unit, i. e. not as a part of an artillery support mission, I only have the option "Target Smoke", right? (I am not talking about the self-defense "Pop Smoke" command, I want to place smoke tactically & at a distance.) Is it possible to limit this fire to, say, 2 or 3 shells? What I experienced is that when I order a Sherman to "Target Smoke" it fires 5 or 6 shells in under 1 minute. I tried to Pause it for 45 secs and then Target Smoke, but even though the Pause counted down the tank fired merrily away in the interval. I suspect I am missing something obvious, but what?

(I do not discuss whether it makes sense to fire fewer shells, I just want to know if it is possible.)

Edited by LutzP

Welcome!

Not really easy to do, LutzP.  You can Target Smoke, put a Pause Command for say 15 seconds or whatever, then put a short Movement order, like 1 Action Square or whatever, then on that Waypoint, use another Target Command. Play around with the Pause timing and number of Movement Orders to figure what works best for that vehicle to get X number of smoke shells. With on map mortars you can Target Light and they usually pump out 3 shells per minute.  (Unit soft factors will affect all this to some degree.) 

Edited by mjkerner

Thanks a lot! Yes, I figured I could use a combination of movement and fire commands but thought I could spare the experimentation involved 🙂 . However, I cannot get the tank to wait with firing. A sequence pause - move - target is executed in the order pause & target - move (& target, if shells left). Shooting always starts immediately on execution.

Edited by LutzP