A Question for Bill Hardenberger: how do not be overwhelmed when things start happening all at once?

apoll

Hello Bill. Got CM:BS yesterday, to go with my CM:RT. This question is, however, not restricted just to BS, but also my efforts to master RT. I get that this sim is unforgiving of sloppy tactics and such, and that I must use real world tactics and SOPs. I was an officer in the Australian army, in armour, and received a really good education on tactics, estimates etc. I get the 'one foot on the ground' and over watch and other concepts, and to the best of my ability, try and apply what I did in the army leading tank and recon troops etc. Yet, I really suck at this sim! I'm so bad it's embarrassing. I routinely get my arse handed to me...against Russians in 1944 or 2017. Doesn't matter. It is as if I never had any education in tactics. My carefully planned out advance, two up, one back, falls into a chaotic mess when contact occurs. When everything starts to happen at once, I get overwhelmed and my pixel truppen die in large numbers. My question to you is how do you stop being overwhelmed when things start to happen in the game? You use the pause button a lot? I try that, but still can't get across the micro management that needs to happen. Or does it? Grateful any advice on this front, as I am trying to master this thing to be good enough to go multiplayer...I would just embarass myself at present!

Thanks very much in advance.

Regards,

Apoll

I'm not Bil, but to me, it sounds like you are fighting the games in Real Time. If you are, and I believe it is the out-of-the-box default setting, try playing the game in wego mode instead. Turn based makes it a lot easier to get your head around all of the things that are happening at once.