Beau Guillot, The Road To Mont First Mission (Redux)

Straight forward question: How the heck do you get past this mission?

I am a CM vet. I am even a beta tester but I have tried this mission again recently and it, quite pointedly, kicks my butt. I cannot get off the beach. There is so little smoke it just does not make a big enough cloud or hang around long enough (about 1 minute). I just don't have the tools to get off the beach against HMG's and MG's in bunkers.

Please, if you have not played it since 2.0 then give it a whirl and give me a battle plan. I am almost to the point of trying a blind charge but that will be nasty I think!

What works for you guys?

"First wave ineffective. We do not hold the beach. Say again, we do not hold the beach!!!"

Are you playing the revised version or the normal one? That would definately a difference because the revised one features more green troops for the player, i.e. is the harder one.

I haven't tried in 2.01 but before I always managed to knock-out the bunkers with concentrated MMG and rifle fire and the enemy HMGs with mortar fire from relatively long range (the beach essentially) but that might not work anymore now.