Stuka zu Fuss

Hello,

I have several question about this weapon (basically a sdkfz251/1 with 6 rocket launchers).

1/ Was it an infantry weapon (I mean like a mounted weapon on a APC) or a part of artillery units ?

2/ How common was this weapon?

3/ Is there any unit equipped whith these weapon in Normandy?

I'm no expert but I've seen photos of shot up stuka-zu-fuss in the Falaise pocket. I would guess it falls into the "self propelled artillery" category, but I could be wrong.

Incidentally, they mounted those box-rocket launchers on anything that could move. I hve seen the SZF mounted on everything from french tankettes to Polish tractors. I've also seen the kind that just set up on the ground. Very dynamic weapon. I imagine they were pretty common but I would also guess, due to the fact that it was just a box angled n the direction they wanted to fire. Still pretty cool though.

Ah, the old Nebelwerfer -- "smoke firer" or something like that in translation I believe. I think the name was a ruse to keep the true nature of the weapon a secret. I sometimes have difficulty translating CMBO 'official' names with the more common designations -- this is the German 300mm rocket artillery, right?

Actually the vehicle you are talking about is the Panzerwerfer42. It was an Opal Blitz mounted on a Maultier chassis. It had a completely closed on rear with a rear door and upper deck for loading the 10 tubes. It was not an SdKfz. 251/1. It did have a similar slanting armor features of the 251/1 though. I heard they were great at playing hell. Great mobility, fast fire and go. Basically they were a nebelwerfer on an armored truck. If not pic is below try the link:

Panzerwerfer 42

sdkfz41_3.jpg

I thought he was talking about a standard 251/1 with three "box-rockets" mounted on each side. That is what is called the stuka zu fuss, or "Stuka on foot".

The panzerwerfer has a nebelwerfer 10-tube launcher mounted on top of either a maultier os sWS half-track. Totally different.