Understanding a battle movie?

Ok, I'm a newbie and so far my main problem with the demo and now the game itself is following what the hell is going on.

When watching the movie there is so much happening at once that I have a real hard time following it. So I move the camera around and replay it over and over.

Is this the best way? Or am I missing something?

Is there a way to cycle through new contacts made in the previous turn? or just cycle through all enemy contacts suspected or confirmed?

Mainly I seem to have a hard time telling where the hell the enemy is! I suppose that real life but it's hard as hell as my infantry gets chewed up.

thanks,

Ken

You are playing exactly how you are supposed to. I rewind many, many times just to see if I missed something.

If you want to cycle through your men; press the "+" and "-" keys on your keyboard and this will go through all of your units. You can't cycle through enemy units until the game is over. You can scale your men "shift-c", this makes viewing a little easier.

The reason you can't see who's shooting at you is because you have probably selected "Extreme" fog of war which pretty much keeps hiding units invisible until you step on them ( depending on what kind of unit)

Hope that helps

[ December 02, 2002, 03:53 PM: Message edited by: Hoopenfaust 101 ]

Hm, for contacts... consider watching once in a high overhead view. With many maps, 'tho, unless you have a truly big monitor either the map will be very very compressed or you'll need to pan.

Overhead view of different sectors will, er, give you an overview.

But yes, I end up watching the same replay from multiple locations often -- even on not terribly large battles. And no, there aren't contact summaries.

I'd also recommend playing with sizes +2 or +3, sparse trees, and unit bases on if you're worried about tracking units.