Newbie or not?

How many games against human opponents does it take to lose the "newbie" status?

The reason I ask is that in another thread one player stated something in the line of "I've only played about 100 games PBEM and TCP/IP, so I'm pretty much a newbie...".

Personally I've had a couple of PBEMs going at all times for the last 20 months or so. This way I've managed to end a total of about 20 PBEM games since I bought CMBO. (No more than a few turns TCP/IP and one hotseat battle.)

Does that mean that I'm still a newbie?

Cheers

Olle

Depends on your defenition of a newbie. If your refering to your familiarity with the game and its mechanics, then you could almost lose your newbieness playing the AI.

If your talking about your familiarity with tactics and such, I'd say most players would drop thier true newbie status within a handful of games.

If he's played 100+ PBEMs, then he ain't a newbie, unless the learning algorithms in his brain are fried. smile.gif

Mikey

well i've played several games, but not many by pbem. i've learned alot about tactics, but my map analyzing ability sucks and i'm not sure it's getting any better. so i think i'll be a newby till the day i die i guess, but no worries. i still love this game! ;)

I've played a lot of games against the AI, a few TCP/IP but no PBEM.

I'm a newbie even though I've played many games solo because the human player is always more unpredictable than the AI. After awhile you can guess how the AI will handle certain situations. If the scenario is well made or not is usually the challenge when playing the AI.

The real key playing another opponent is when your faced with a situation you haven't come across before and how you can react. Are you always making the same mistakes. If you just haven't been competetive or your still just trying to feel yourself around in setting up a strategy/gameplan, then consider yourself a newbie. My two cents.

Originally posted by Shades: