Why so many IS-1's?

IIRC only 130 of them were built... and yet I see them in plenty of scenarios in CMRT.

Or maby I'm just imagining things.

But it feels like there are more IS-1's than one might expect.

How many IS-1's were directly involved in operation bagration (in the areas covered by the game at least)?

Anyway, like I said, it's just a feeling.

But it feels like the IS-1 should be a rare thing, not something that pops up often enough to feel "common".

IIRC only 130 of them were built... and yet I see them in plenty of scenarios in CMRT.

Or maby I'm just imagining things.

But it feels like there are more IS-1's than one might expect.

How many IS-1's were directly involved in operation bagration (in the areas covered by the game at least)?

Anyway, like I said, it's just a feeling.

But it feels like the IS-1 should be a rare thing, not something that pops up often enough to feel "common".

I'm no expert, but possibly many of those scenarios are set early in Bagration and are trying to give the feel of early "new big tank".

Plus most scenarios are designed and built independently, so the builder may not anticipate them being in "plenty" of others.

So, random convergence.

I'm no expert, but possibly many of those scenarios are set early in Bagration and are trying to give the feel of early "new big tank".

Plus most scenarios are designed and built independently, so the builder may not anticipate them being in "plenty" of others.

So, random convergence.

Maby it's the "this is rare so it's cool, I'll use it"?

Oddball's point was that only about 140-150 IS-1's were ever built cos they had problems and production was switched to IS-2 quite quickly. They were far more numerous.

However, wouldn't it be boring if scenarios reflected reality - ie: nearly all infantry based with little armor. Designers quite rightly focus on fun engagements - and that's why we used to see so many Puma's in CMBN even tho' they were also very rare.