Unkowns stealth helicopter downed in Bin Laden raid

It seems from the photographic evidence that the helo that the US spec ops people lost during the raid had a very different pedigree from known aircraft.

This link http://www.aviationweek.com/aw/blogs/defense/index.jsp?plckController=Blog&plckBlogPage=BlogViewPost&newspaperUserId=27ec4a53-dcc8-42d0-bd3a-01329aef79a7&plckPostId=Blog%3a27ec4a53-dcc8-42d0-bd3a-01329aef79a7Post%3a275902dd-e7a2-40fd-ab78-d46e3bf922b1&plckScript=blogScript&plckElementId=blogDest and others have photos that lead me to believe that the downed bird may have been some sort of extensively modified MH-60 variant never seen before.

I was a maintenance officer on naval H-60's at one time and see the similarities but at the same time, this a/c has Skunk Works (or a similar secret sweat shop) written all over it.

The engine didn't fail mechanically - it apparently stalled due to the complex wash generated by its own rotors ansd the high walls.

Turbine engines do this occasionally - even big jet engines - it can create a massive "backfire" & seriously damage an engine. Turbulent airflow into an engine can be a factor so a lot of design work goes into smoothing the airflow into the engine to prevent it.

I don't have any personal knowledge of such a thing happening, but it doesn't seem outlandish to me that a helicopter coming into a complex airflw envirnment might suffer a compressor stall, and have no room to recover before hitting the ground too hard.

The engine didn't fail mechanically - it apparently stalled due to the complex wash generated by its own rotors ansd the high walls.

Turbine engines do this occasionally - even big jet engines - it can create a massive "backfire" & seriously damage an engine. Turbulent airflow into an engine can be a factor so a lot of design work goes into smoothing the airflow into the engine to prevent it.