"Total" QB Results!

For awhile now, maybe a long time even, I've been playing QB's. After getting CMAK initially, I went to Scenario Depot Part Deux etc and downloaded every "Allied vs AI, Pts<1500" scenario I could find...

And that was fun for awhile. But then, naturally, I'd run through them all and/or I got annoyed with the tendency too many authors have to put you up against truly preposterous odds, as if only a real man's man would complain about fighting an equal number of German forces.... only to find that there were six more Tigers waiting in the flanks to make things... ah... "challenging" towards the end of the engagement...

Anyway, I started playing QB's exclusively, and that worked fine for awhile too, but now I find that all my results are "Total".

Usually I win, of course, so it's a "Total Victory". In fact, awhile ago it really was "total": 100% to 0%. So you will probably say, "turn up the AI experience factor or troop complement"...

Well hang on, cuz it's not that simple. I'm not saying I win them all: I still lose a fair number of battles-- but those are also Total outcomes. "Total Defeat" of course.

But there's no outcome in between.

I think it has to do with: A) my QB's have to be small, (because of HW), around "500 pts" (increased automatically if attacking, etc), and B) when I go to start turn 1, I either have The Right Stuff, or I don't. IOW, if the AI has picked Panthers, and I end up without any anti-armor stuff and the battlefield is wide and flat... I'm hosed. If there's enough cover or something, I'll win.

It's hard to explain; maybe that's clear, maybe not. I can't tell right now. If you know what I'm talking about, what would you do to get more QB battles that are "in the middle" of the challenge-spectrum? Increasing the AI exp bonus would pull down my wins, sure. But that would also turn my defeats from "aw shucks, another 5 minutes and I coulda got him" into Total Agonies... Know what I mean?