BTS, time to consider another programmer?

I know you guys are hot and heavy into CM2 and I also know that Charles is the uberprogrammer. He's doing a wonderful job. But, since I have too much time on my hands right now, I was thinking about the future for you guys (I know, no need to thank me, just willing to help smile.gif).

Anyway, have you guys considered adding a programmer right now to tinker around with CM1? Maybe add some new vehicles or a new command or two. Nothing major, just enough to get his/her feet wet into the inner workings of CM. That way, he/she can pitch in and help with CM2 support after it has been released to allow Charles to rewrite the engine for CM3. Then, once the engine is rewritten, he/she can then backfit CM1 and CM2 for the new engine while Charles charges ahead on CM3.

Just a thought. I'm not a programmer, so I'm not fishing for a job, but just from an efficiency point of view this seems to be a logical evolution for your company. Maybe Kwazydog or MadMatt is that programmer?

------------------

Jeff Abbott

This is insulting, ignorant and just plain stupid. Has anyone else noticed that Steve no longer posts here?

Now I will admit that the post is a bit condesencing, but I wouldn't put it down quite so harshly. It asks some good questions for those who (like us!) are interested in the future of CM.

Given the success of CM1 would BTS consider or are they considering hireing another programmer?

Have the considered licencing their engine to other companies?

Would they consider releasing CM1 as an open source project at some point in the (far) future such that it could be upgraded with new weapons systems etc by fans?

Would they consider licencing the game to a group of fans who would continue to upgrade the origional game while the new one was worked on?

BTS can feel free to ignore these questions (and has every right too!) but they are legitimate ones.

--Chris

Originally posted by Michael Dorosh: