15% shooters?

The recent post regarding SPR used the statistic that claimed only 15% of American infantrymen fired their guns in anger. Does anyone have any specifics on how this number was reached? Personally, I find the idea that any unit directly engaged with an enemy would have only 1 in 7 soldiers return fire dubious. I am no expert, but in terms of CM that would mean only about 2 men per squad would shoot, and you would be lucky to have one machine gun open up per company. I also find it had to believe that infantry divisions that were involved in fighting hard enough to receive well over 200% casualties over the campaign would have 85% of their soldiers just sit there and wait to get shot.

It just doesn’t add up. I know statistics can be as confusing as enlightening and I believe this statistic falls into the confusing category. If anyone can tell me where to find more information to prove or disprove this theory please let me know. Thanks. If this has already been discussed, I apologize. I didn't even know how to begin to search for it.

[This message has been edited by Dmeek (edited 04-15-2000).]

Possibly the 15% figure is a reference to the number of logistics and support personnel involved ("REMF's"), vs the number of troops in the line. I read somewhere that it took something like 14 rear echelon troops to support 1 fighting soldier in the ETO, and even more in the Pacific theatre.

Guest Germanboy

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Kevin Peltz:

Possibly the 15% figure is a reference to the number of logistics and support personnel involved ("REMF's"), vs the number of troops in the line. I read somewhere that it took something like 14 rear echelon troops to support 1 fighting soldier in the ETO, and even more in the Pacific theatre.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>