Rule of 76?

Vadr

Hi,

I'm new to CMBO, although this ain't my first rodeo when it comes to small-unit tactics.

I started a PBEM game with an old friend, 1500 pt Combined Arms Meeting Engagement, with 'the Rule of 76s' in effect.

I'm down wit' dat, I understand and agree with the Rule, I think it's a good thing.

Now, my problem:

My friend picked up a few Churchill VIII's, which have managed to pretty much 1-shot kill 2 of my Pz IV's and a Hetzer with those 95mm hollow-core rounds. Those same tanks are now in the process of dismembering my Infantry with HE, of course

My question: should I insist on being allowed to purchase Tiger Is going forward ( a suggested modification to the rule) if Churchill VIII's are allowed, or should I just take my lumps this time and get over it?

Thanks

------------------

Vadr

Kommandeur

III/JG2 'Richthofen'

Guest captain,ro

hello all,

first let me say that i have tryed to search this alot. would someone pleasetell me or show me where i can find the rules of 75 and 76s? thanks all

ro

I've been around for ever on this board and for the life of me, I haven't got the slightest idea of what you're talking about concerning the "76 Rule"

The way I look at this game, is that it is not *just* a game, but simulated war. And as we all know, "All's fair in love and war."

[This message has been edited by Maximus (edited 11-18-2000).]

While I understand one's desire to put some kind of AFV limit on a PBEM game I can't seem to shake the idea that this is contrary to actual warfare. In our sometimes overzealous desire to make everything "fair" we might wind up with a PBEM more akin to chess than a simulation of a WWII battle. Why not just dictate all the armor pieces each side gets? I think the fact that the heavies cost more is a good enough limit in and of itself.