CMRT BARBAROSSA DER BUSSARD

OK, when it comes to CM stuff, I am a crazy wannabe chef, I have meals on the stove, meals being served, meals still marinating, meals in the planning phase and meals I am starting the research. Even if some of my cooking might make you barf, I do enjoy the process.

So, I am encouraged by @Heinrich505 to try and do an early Wittmann scenario. It has been tried before. CMBB I think and some other game platforms. Point 65.5 in Ukraine. A lone short barrel StugIII vs 18 T-34's is the story I read. 6 were KO'd and the rest vamoosed. It was on either 7.13.41 or 7.12.41.  I think it was near Sokoliv. I have Rudolf Lehman's The Leibstandarte II but it has normal errors in memory and recollection. I have Google Earth and am looking for anything with an elevation of 65.5 meters but it is all much higher in elevation. 200+ Hmmm. I am not a map elevation history expert. Maybe they had errors and I will not find this mythical point 65.5.

Many talented folks have bitten into this and the old web archives even show a benpark in an old non-BFC forum discussing it circa 2009. @benpark

I have my early Stug mod with StugIII riding the 251 Stummel but now I also have as an option to use a 2nd version where you have the armor of the StugIII but smoke and mirrors makes the long 75 look short.

This will be fun. Chime in if you have any comments. 

Edited by kohlenklau

What is the opinion of any experienced researchers here?

I propose that the so called Point 65.5 is NOT a true detail but came from a propaganda story or post-war reiteration?

In 5 minutes I have hit paydirt for 1;100,000 maps for this area from Polish sources dated 1931.

P47 S 46 PULINY

All the terrain info on this 1931 map roughly matches the Google Earth GE numbers for elevations. ~200m

This IS the area of the LSSAH tactical focus on 7.11.1941-7.13.1941 and Lehmann page 30-41 describes it with words like "baptism of fire".