AI Scenario Editor

Hi is there any guide to AI scenario editing? my problem is this i like to create my own scenarios using quick battle maps and just purchasing the units i want have more time to end the battle etc but red units dont deploy in a very smart way IE in a urban area they deploy the units out of the buildings and too cluttered etc etc how can i change this? in the AI section of the scenario editor ive seen something like lower floors upper floors etc how does this work to make em deploy propretly?

In an urban area they deploy the units out of the buildings and too cluttered etc etc how can i change this?
I am by no means an expert on editor matters, but I would like to suggest that you paint only the buildings' footprints as deploy zones. Then the AI should have no choice but to deploy in the buildings.

Best regards,

Thomm

Deriuse

I'll offer you a couple of pointers if you don't mind. First, I would recommend that you don't use QB maps to start with but create a very, very basic one in the editor first, say about 240mx240m. Put a couple of buildings on it and paint one as an AI set up zone. Buy a very small formation fom the editor and place them in the set up zone.

Once you've done that, give them an order to move from the set up building to the other and then you can play around with the AI orders and watch what they do. Use SCENARIO AUTHOR mode to do this. Try varying the types of movement orders, DASH, QUICK, ADVANCE etc and also try changing the Exit Before/After times and see what happens. Make notes if it helps.

Since your map is so small, it will load up very quickly and you can do several experiments in 15-20 minutes. Once you've got a handle on what's going on then you can progress to two AI groups, 3 etc and even add enemy units for them to interact with. You will even know what questions to ask when you need help rather than very general 'how does the editor work' :D