wake island

Im no game designer by a long shot but i notice that Wake Island at the beginning is not garrisoned by a unit and the Japanese have an amphib transport in range and can take the island with no fight in the first turn. The real life marines at Wake put up a tough defense to the surprise of the Japanese and bloodied their nose before falling to a more concerted effort. I was wondering if it warrants maybe a weakened Marine unit or something to represent that or does it just not make a big difference in the big picture.

William Overby

The battle was a short engagement that lasted a little over two weeks and included fewer than 500 U.S. Marines. But, the Japanese did get a bloody nose.

It is remembered well by U.S. Marines and today the fighter squadron defending the Island at that time now bares the name Wake Island Avengers.

Although I am of the opinion that the U.S. Commander having lost communications with a majority of the Marines gave up too soon. The Marines might have forced the Japanese to invade a third time. Also, the aborted relief convoy, if it had arrived, could have sparked a much larger battle; maybe the first all-carrier battle instead of the Coral Sea being the first.

Despite the stout defense on Wake and the potential for a relief convoy, I think Bill got this one right in the game. The scale of the fighting, unless the relief convoy was not ordered to turn around, does not rate a USA unit in the game map.

Semper Fi,

Robert

After watching the Oliver North War Stories on FoxNews, in regards to the battle...those dudes had major courage. Out in the middle of nowhere, small island, Japs bombing, and landing. The Yanks thought help might come, but nobody wanted to risk the fleet just yet. The defenders of Wake Island were left out to dry.

After seeing the torture, beatings, labor camps, and starvation the captured Marines went thru...I would have gone down shooting on Wake Island. Might as well just get shot & get it over with.