enemies but not at war?

I just started playing SC2 Blitzkrieg after laying off for a while and i got the newest patch and i notice something strange. As the allies i notice that before Italy enters the war when i move a ship and run into a hidden italian ship it says enemy contact but there is no fighting and i can not attack them. What is this all about? We seem to still be at peace but my movement is interrupted by hidden italian units. Any ideas?

Bill.........

Yes, it is sad. This is actually the reason for the main exploits in the game. You can scout German subs with Russian and US ships, since the subs cannot fire at them this will prevent their first devastating attack and allows your other ships to move in for the kill. The only penalty for this is that countries like Spain, Sweden and Finland will be 'alerted' to the presence of the US and Russia if they get too close and gain a bonus to Axis activation. The unfortunate reality is that these bonuses are either insignificant or easily prevented by not moving your ships close to these countries.

In multiplayer games it is often a rule that you may only order the ships of countries that are not yet at war directly to a friendly harbor.

Except for the Med, the SC "house rule" is that you cannot move a non-belligerent away from your home shores.

Of course, perhaps one day we will get the "pass through" naval feature I have been asking for a number of years. We did at least get it as a sub function.

We have been doing our best to incorporate solutions to this in campaign design, so for example in Operation Z in the Pacific, the Soviet navy only deploys when the USSR joins the allies. That way they can't be used for early scouting, and we are doing our best to minimise this for the Global Conflict too.

In fairness this is more of a design decision rather than a bug really.