Exit Before/After Question

Exit Before/After

Does this count as time elapsed from the beginning of a scenario, or time from when you reach the current order zone?

For instance, reinforcements enter 10 minutes into a map and I want them to sit in setup zone for 5 minutes before moving. Would the exit after be set to 15 minutes or 5?

• 3 weeks later...

I'm not an expert but I've done a few experiments with AI scripting to see how it all works and here's what I think I know...

The Exit After time is since the start of the scenario, not since the new order became active.

I tried an experiment where an Infantry platoon had to move from waypoint to waypoint on an otherwise empty map. They would move from one identifiable terrain feature to another.

The planned sequence was, 3 mins to get there, exit after 5 mins. On to waypoint 2, repeat, the idea being that they would move there, wait until 5 mins were up and then move on again etc... Worked fine for the first waypoint but after that, they were moving out after a brief regrouping.

Tried again with Exit before 3 mins, Exit after 10 for the second waypoint and it worked like a charm. The third waypoint, 3 mins to get there, Exit after 15 mins. So they moved from waypoint to waypoint in 5 minute waves.

As long as nobody shoots at them, they'll do it like you command. But they are HORRIBLY prone to do the Crawl of Death if they receive even a small amount of incoming fire.

I'd be very happy to be corrected if I'm wrong.

It would make sense to have the "Exit After" time be relative to the scenario start time, as then you could coordinate groups more effectively by giving several groups the same "Exit After" time. If it was relative to when the unit arrived at the waypoint it would be harder to coordinate groups as they might arrive at their waypoints at different times.

For the same reason, I imagine "Exit Before" is relative to the scenario start time as well.