Disconcerting realisation: I'm not very good at CMSF

Now that the game "works" I can no longer blame it for my own deficiencies and they are grave, indeed. before I withdraw in frustration can someone help me with tactics? I'm getting pummeled.

Playing "Chance Encounter", RT/Veteran, the brief says that the crossroads are not defended. However, either they are, or it's a meeting engagement. My anti-armor Strykers seem much thinner-skinned than the Red T-72s so maximising the range to target seems to be the best tactic, yet from a distance the Strykers rarely spot the tanks long enough to get a shot. Meanwhile the tanks have good angles on all open ground; dismounts attempting to cross open ground on the left get annihilated and there are not enough Blue vehicles to be able to transport troops into cover at speed. On the right my troops have their hands full and a battle of attrition develops in the woods. I lose too many men, lose the initiative and then the 40-minute clock runs out.

I'm not criticising the scenario, it's great. My tactics must be profoundly at fault. Can any of you grogs advise re. how to approach this mission, i.e. mounted/dismounted, placement of spotters/sniper, how to cross open ground and use of indirect fires? I'd be grateful for an assist.

...However, either they are, or it's a meeting engagement.
It's a ME.

SPOLIER ALERT!!

*IF* you play it cautiously, like you suspect the crossroads are defended, you will give the computer an advantage IMHO. *IF* you play the game like you know the crossroads are open, you will be in for a very good fight.

Thanks.

SPOILERS AHEAD

Okay, well what I think I'll try and do next is put the weight of my forces on the right hand side of the road as there is more cover there. The dismounts get hammered in the open ground on the left.

Surely if I played it as though I believed the crossroads to be undefended I'd get ambushed on the road?