Sneak movements through defense : why?

Hi,

I'm new to SC2WAW and I've been caught off guard more than once by units with high mobility sneaking through 2 defensive units (in diagonal).

Here is a rough drawing of it (with x being defensive units and y the sneaky bastard)

Before : After :

x x

y y

x x

I lost two towns because of this and it really hurts!

In most wargames that I know offensive moves invariably end the very moment the moving unit comes into contact with an enemy unit.

This is definitely not the case in SC2WAW.

Can someone explain me the reason(s) why?

To my mind it is unrealistic and gamey.

Thanks for your attention,

JHM

Actually it does not make any sense and is troublesome in very aspect. Thats just what you get with tiles.

WaW is a truely great game and I guess we are spoiled to have such support from the Dev.

However I am still angry that instead of introducing hexes and retreat-rules we now continue down the same road with an expansion with the same basic tiles. Im not doubting it will be good just frustrated that we are not able to take the sc series to the next level.

Penetration, yeah right. The absurdity of tiles can easily be examplified: both sides can sustain their supplylines through the diagonals. Look:

'Y

X X

'Y

both sides got supply between units. This is just an example that these tiles are flawed(along with distances etc)

Penetration is also extemely unrealistic in the extent the units penetrate. Certainly, a part of Blitzkreig tactics was to penetrate and envelop. But in all verisons of SC, a single unit will penetrate hundreds of miles behind the front lines, well out of any hope of supply. This feature requires you to garrison every city to prevent one of these walkabout units from penetrating the Russian line at Karkov and capturing Kubishev.