Tips on attacking with Armor against Armor

Hi,

I'm new to the game, but I've played enough times to recognize my weakness. I can't seem to figure out how to attack with armor. (All of this is against the computer) Defending vs the computer is a sinch unless I really give it lots of extra untis. I'm fine attacking with infantry, but I can't get my shermans to live long enough versus german armor. Part of this has to be due to my inexperience with recon, and my tendency for aggresive action (which seems to work well for the infantry, just not the tanks). I'ld appreciate any advise or links to good attack faqs.

Thanks

Pete

:confused:

First thing is you need to raise the hit chances as much as you can.

If the opponent moves in with 5 tanks and you have two, then -given equal guns and vehicles size for a basic chance-, his overall hit chance is much higher.

Get precise guns, 75mm L/48, U.S. 76mm, 17 pdr or even the 75mm L/70. Avoid the allied 75mm and HC-firing vehicles, as their hit chance is much lower. On small maps (1000 points battle and detault settings) the 88mm L/71 is overkill.

Get veteran or better crews for the better hit chance.

If you can have more than one tank, get identical tanks or at least tanks with identical guns and do not seperate them. When one of them moves into LOS of an enemy vehicle, the other must follow into LOS of the same target before the first shots fall.

Always hide behind cover and only come out so that you sneak at one and onloy one enemy vehicle, but when you do, do it with as many guns/vehicles as you can. Always move out when the enemy vehicle is spotted and you could set a manual "target" order to it.

Overall, the defensive strategy depends on your scheme what to do against light and heavy tanks.