Mad, bad and dangerous to post in -- it's the Cheery Waffle Thread

_Axe_

So, the story I was going to tell you yesterday goes like this --

As some of you clowns may know by now, I had a great uncle who served in the Second World War. He was my maternal grandfather's brother and his name was Gilbert Costello Scarr.

All my grandfather Kenneth knew was that his brother was killed in the war. Although my grandfather died in 1995, I still decided to find out what I could about Gilbert. I was a journalism student at the time (1997) and, even though the internet wasn't what it is today, I decided to use it in my search.

First stop was the Books of Remembrance, six books housed in the Peace Tower at Canada's Parliament buildings.

In them are the names of Canadian soldiers killed in war -- from the Boer War to Korea.

I started with 1939 and moved through the Ss until there it was, in 1944 -- Pte Scarr, Gilbert Costello RRgtC.

It was an emotional moment. Now I knew the when. I was left with the where and the how. I linked to the Veterans' Affairs page and got the address for the Commonwealth Graves Commission. Within six days I received the answer: "Private Gilbert C. Scarr of the Royal Regiment of Canada, Royal Canadian Infantry Corps died on 14 July 1944. He is buried in the Beny-Sur-Mer Canadian Cemetery, France in Plot 9, Row H, Grave 2."

That led me to find the official history of the Royal Regiment, Battle Royal, written by Let.-Col. D.J. Goodspeed. From it I learned the regiment, at the time of Gilbert's death, was fighting to take Caen. A handful of men died the same day he did, most from mortar fire while sitting in slitch trenches.

The next step was getting his service record which I did from the Archives of Canada. It turns out Gilbert landed after D-Day and he only lasted 10 days on French soil. He was buried by a padre at the roadside of Eterville, a hamlet outside of Caen. His remains were later disintered and buried at Beny-Sur-Mer.